“No, I wouldn’t be the governor of Idaho. No thank you.”

Winter

Bear with me.

I could have never imagined that the first post on this blog would be encapsulating the same person I resented my sophomore year because of one, miscommunicated incident. I spent the first three years of high school constantly wondering if people were making fun of me, talking about me behind my back, pretending to like me.  In reference to the first, most occurred worry, I thought Abas and another boy in my sophomore English class were making fun of me.  Setting aside the details, yes, I may have been a little too sensitive, and I let myself carry an unnecessary grudge.

My senior year, Abas popped up in two of my classes – my AP Macroeconomics class and my Journalism class.  I think in any other case with any other normal, self-satisfied girl, Abas would’ve been the type of person you would have a crush on.  He is extremely sharp, down to earth, and very charming.  However, my first thought was – Who the hell does this guy think he is? I was honest with myself in that I confronted my admiration for Abas but also my envy.  He had plenty of friends, connections, and social fronts that I could never have in my community because I felt that in the suburban town I had recently moved to, it was hard to be new and also likable.  Abas had not only established relationships in our city, but an open attitude towards the rest of the world.  I lacked the former, which was negatively impactful considering I had to spend my high school career in that very city.

I think the solution to my dilemma was clear to me later – befriend Abas.  Growing up as an only child, I had unfortunately developed an attitude that consistently tugged at me to become more likable, gain more attention, gather more credit. Positive attention had to be shone on me. And, if someone had something that I didn’t have, I had to work towards gaining it – or taking it away.  Quickly I realized that a more safe, mature, and smart path would be to let go of the sour part of my ego and be actual friends with someone who also has their own achievements; who is also funny, down to earth, and devilishly good-looking, just like me.

This may be just me (and this also might have a lot to say about my characteristics pre-epiphany), but I am not imagining this. At least I don’t think I am.  Abas is definitely my friend now, and I am learning a lot from him every day by just being around him.

This 7 minute audio was another one of Abas’s brilliant ideas formed by the clustering his sporadic thoughts.  I totally winged this and so did he.  But it is funny to us, and maybe to other people that know Abas for his relaxed and pleasant personality that thrives off of subtle humor (or maybe just convenient humor).  Hopefully you can get a sense of Abas’s personality and like him as much as we all do (literally, we all love Abas.)

P.S. Abas’s friends call him “The Governor.” I have no idea why. I do not know where it came from. But I have to say that I like it and it suits him well.

One thought on ““No, I wouldn’t be the governor of Idaho. No thank you.”

Leave a Reply

